Album Review: Bangerz by Miley Cyrus

Confession: I am a music fanatic. Seriously. I listen to a huge variety of music. It is not unusual for me to have Ke$ha, Kodaline, and Kendrick Lamar all on the same Spotify playlist. Yeah weird combination I know.

So I know I’m a little late to the game but I wanted to give my review of Miley Cyrus’s new album, Bangerz. I’m hot and cold when it comes to Miley. I do think she has talent. I love jamming to Party in the USA. When I Look at You is an amazing song. And Miley’s cover of “Jolene” is honestly one of the best things I’ve ever seen.

Miley Cyrus Bangerz Album Cover
Bangerz is not one of the best things I’ve ever seen. When I first started to listen to the album on Spotify, I kind of wanted to like it. But I just couldn’t. My disappointment starts right away. I do not like how Miley opens her album with a ballad. This is the girl we saw twerking in skintoned latex. I wanted her to open the album with a bang(erz), but instead we get the down tempo “Adore You” and it just does not get me excited for the rest of the album.

The first song that intrigues me just a bit is “SMS (Bangerz).” And it truthfully is all about Britney. I’m a huge fan of Britney Spears so the fact that she’s featured on this track is most definitely why I love it so much. Plus the repetitive “I,I,I,I…Bangerz” is kinda catchy. But just kinda.

“4×4” sounds so out of place on the record. Too country. I thought we were leaving Hannah Montana behind right? “Wrecking Ball” is the most emotionally truthful song in my opinion. It actually feels honest and genuine. But of course those genuine feelings were ruined by the sledgehammer make-out sesh featured in the music video.

The only other potential stand out song on the record is “FU.” It’s interesting for sure. I don’t feel it fits the album but by itself it’s a cool song that shows off Miley’s strong vocals.

Final thoughts? Meh. I’m going to pass on this one. Guess I’ll have to patiently wait for the next Miley reincarnation.

Have you heard Miley’s new album? What do you think?

xx

One thought on “Album Review: Bangerz by Miley Cyrus

Talk to Me

