Life Long Learning

Wanna hear something crazy? I miss class. I miss lectures. I miss research. I genuinely miss learning.

I have always felt at home in the classroom. Learning new information gave me my own personal high. I excelled in school without having to try too hard. I loved listening to my professors lecture. And when I was given the opportunities to write research papers about any topic I wanted, I internally screamed with delight.

And now I’m 2 years out of school and I miss it. Certainly I learn in other ways. I learned how to use Quickbooks. I learned how to do payroll. I’m learning all the ins and outs of my new job. But it’s not the same.

Lately I’ve become pretty enamored with informative YouTube channels (some of which I linked here). They are a nice way to get a little bit of that classroom feeling back into my week. And I can quickly learn new information about a topic in a fun way.

I have also been watching more documentaries recently. Netflix is a treasure trove of great documentaries that provide a ton on interesting information on a wide variety of topics. Some of my favorites I’ve viewed recently are Blackfish, Somm, and Earthlings.

Still, I really want to learn more. I realize I have such varied interests that I should be exploring more. And I think the first step in exploring those interests is actually pinpointing what they are! So here is my list of topics I want to learn more about:

  1. Honeybees and the bee crisis
  2. Hawai’i and Hawai’ian culture
  3. Nutrition
  4. French language and culture
  5. Meditation
  6. Buddhism
  7. Mixology
  8. Gardening and flowers
  9. Endangered animals

Do you miss learning? What are you list of interests you want to pursue more knowledge about?

Talk to Me

