Bad Mood Slump

I am in the worst mood. Literally. The absolute worst mood. Like you probably shouldn’t talk to me today kind of mood. Any sort of request you make of me today will immediately irritate me. Make one statement and it could easily set me off.

And I have no idea why.

Nothing extremely bad has happen. No major fight or event or bad news. I just woke up on the complete wrong side of the bed this morning. My cat was bothering me at 4am. I thought today was Friday when it’s actually Wednesday. My roommate made a comment that got under my skin. My pants are too big. My phone was malfunctioning. My boyfriend said something that pushed my buttons. Coworkers are making small, but silly requests.

All of this adds up to me being a walking ball of negative energy. And I don’t know how to shake it. I don’t want to feel this way. I hate feeling this way! I would do anything to snap my fingers to get rid of this negative energy. But I can’t.

If I hadn’t been at this job for just under 2 months I would have taken a sick day to get my head in the right frame of mind. I would have slept in. Watched Netflix. Treated myself to Starbucks. Just had a lazy day where I didn’t have to interact with anyone and mentally get my head straight. But I can’t do that either.

So now I’m struggling to force myself into a better mood. While sitting at my desk. I can’t listen to music. I can’t go for a walk. I can’t flip through a magazine. All typical things that would make me feel better. But I can’t do them.

I needed a solution.

So I went into the bathroom, looked in the mirror and smiled. I smiled a real, genuine smile. I smiled til my cheeks hurt. I really felt that smile. I felt the joy and happiness that smile is supposed to represent. And I let that smile carry me out of my bad mood. As crazy as it sounds, smiling actually did bring me out of my bad mood.  I’m feeling better, more positive, and less dragged down by the monotony of every day life.

It’s true what they say, a smile really can change the world, even if it’s just your own.

Talk to Me

