What I Am Not

Have you ever heard the advice just as important as knowing what you want to do is knowing what you don’t want to do? I received this advice when I was looking for a new job. I didn’t know what job I wanted, but I knew of some jobs I absolutely did not want. Sometimes that can be just as beneficial.

Kind of going along with that, while it’s important to understand who you are, it’s also important to understand who you are not. You can never be everything to everyone. It is a huge realization and honestly a huge weight off your shoulders when you begin to realize and accept the things you are not.

  • I am not the center of attention.
  • I am not a fashion blogger. I will never care about the latest trends, styles, shopping, or going to #fashionweek.
  • I am not famous.
  • I am not an athlete nor am I competitive. You will never see me playing soccer or joining a softball league. Although I do admittedly need to find a natural way to add exercise into my routine.
  • I am not a size 2 and I don’t think I ever will be in a healthy and safe way.
  • I am not the girl with a huge group of friends. I much prefer having a smaller group of intimate and long withstanding friendships.
  • I am not a painter nor can I draw. But I can be creative in other ways.
  • I am not a party girl.
  • I am not a teacher. Student teaching taught me that is not the profession for me.
  • I am not perfect.

And guess what? All of that is okay. I am okay knowing I am not those things. I used to long for a huge group of friends and acquaintances. Now I know that is just not me and it’s fine. That works for some people, it’s just not for me.

Understanding who you are is a long journey. Things will change and develop overtime. Things that may be truths now may not be truths in 10 years. No I am not a mother now, but I am hoping that will change in the next decade. But understanding what you are not helps you to develop what you are. No I am not a fashion blogger so why try to make my blog fit that genre? Better to develop this site into a place where I feel comfortable expressing who I am and what I care about. No I am not the girl with the huge group of friends. Better to develop lasting friendships that are meaningful to me.

Accepting what I am not has been a huge step in recognizing who I am and what I am capable of. Does anyone ever truly know who they are? I’m not sure, but I have a much better understanding of who I am as a person than I did even just a year ago, so I think I’m on the right track.

One thought on “What I Am Not

Talk to Me

