Weekend Trip: Annapolis

This past weekend my boyfriend and I took a trip to Annapolis. My younger brother was playing a soccer game there against Navy and we thought it would be a great idea to make a weekend out of it. Although Annapolis is less than an hour outside of DC, I had never been there before but I had heard great things!

We started off by checking into the State House Inn. It is a cute little Inn in the perfect location right across from the Maryland State House. Since we were right there, we decided to pop into the State House to look around. It is the oldest government building still in use in the United States.

IMG_0001

That’s the ceiling in the State House. It is crazy to think that George Washington once stood under that same roof!

After the State House we decided to walk around town a bit. We stopped at Kilwin’s to have some ice cream and sample some fudge! I had a waffle cone with a scoop of pumpkin pie and a scoop of apple pie ice cream (clearly I was in a very fall mood).

IMG_0008

The other treats and candies they had at Kilwin’s looked delicious as well!

IMG_0002

IMG_0014

I love all the historic homes and architecture around the town. I was a history major so this was right up my alley!

After we explored a bit ourselves we decided to take a trolley tour of Annapolis with my parents. It was nice to drive around and see different areas of the town.

IMG_0025

Halfway through the trolley tour we were able to get out and take some pictures at a scenic overlook. Greg and I snapped this selfie!

After the tour we had lunch at the Ram’s Head Tavern on their back patio. The weather was perfect to eat outside and enjoy the day.

After lunch we did some more walking around the area and popped into a few of the shops on Main Street. We also walked down by the water to see some of the boats in the harbor.

IMG_0026

 

Then we headed over the to Naval Academy to watch my brother’s soccer game. My brother is a senior at Lafayette College and this is his last season of soccer. I definitely wanted to make sure I saw at least one of his games (in fact it’s on my 101 list!).

IMG_0035

Here are the boys being announced before the start of the game. My brother is #18! Unfortunately they ended up losing 1-0, but the team played really well and my brother got a nice shot on goal.

Sitting at the game was freezing (we were right on the water and there was a lot of wind!) so we decided to hustle over to a bar to grab some drinks with my parents. Perfect way to end the evening.

Sunday we started the day with breakfast from Sofi’s Crepes. I had the bananarama crepe with banana, granola, honey, and peanut butter. Greg got the BAT crepe with bacon, avocado, tomato, and sour cream. Both were beyond delish.

We stopped by the William Paca House on Prince George’s Street to take a tour of the home and enjoy the garden. The garden behind the historical home was lovely. I wish I had something like it in my own backyard!

IMG_0037

IMG_0039

IMG_0041

Once we finished exploring the garden, we decided to head over the the Naval Academy and enjoy the campus. It is absolutely beautiful and it’s so neat to see all the midshipman walking around in their naval uniforms. Plus the view of the water is hard to beat.

IMG_0042

All in all it was the perfect weekend getaway!

 

 

Talk to Me

