#1989

It’s here! It’s here! Taylor Swift’s new album 1989 has arrived and I’m super happy about it.

1989

I’ve loved Taylor since I was in high school. We’re almost exactly the same age (our birthdays are less than a month apart) so as a 16/17 year old listening to her music I felt like Taylor and I were on the same wavelength. I continued to grow up listening to her music. When Speak Now came out in my junior year of college it instantly became one of my favorite albums. Enchanted is still one of my favorite songs of all time.

I will not be ashamed to admit that Taylor and I had a bit of a falling out with her last album. Red was not my favorite and as I continued to mature, Taylor’s music seemed to be falling a bit behind. She was still singing about crushes and new love when I was in a long-term committed relationship. Taylor started to seem a bit immature and I started to move on from her music.

But no more! 1989 is AMAZING! It feels fresh and new, but also familiar. It doesn’t completely stray from the old Taylor, but the music does seem more mature. She still talks about new love and playing games, but in a way a 24, almost 25 year old would describe them.

Bad Blood is my jam and favorite off the album right now. Blank Space, I Know Places, and Wildest Dream follow closely behind. I unfortunately need to wait until payday on Friday before I can purchase the album (or I need to swipe it from my brother who has already downloaded it). So for now I’m listening to all the songs on Tumblr and YouTube. Not ideal but it will tide me over until I can enjoy the full album!

What do you think of 1989? Like it as much as me?

Talk to Me

