Who Do You Want To Be

I’m a big believer of goals and lists (which is why I love my 101 list so much!). I constantly have a to do list going. I always make New Year’s resolutions. I love the feeling of crossing something off my 101 list. Hitting milestones is fun and rewarding.

The idea of a bucket list intrigues me, although I have never actually created one. But typically budget lists seem to have events included. Backpack across Europe. Start my own business. Raise kids. Adopt a puppy. These are all wonderful goals and will certainly be rewarding, I am contemplating a different kind of bucket list.

A bucket list of the type of person you want to be. Less of a checklist of events and more of a yardstick for growth. What qualities do I want to see in myself as I get older? What characteristics to I want to embody? How do I make sure I fulfill these goals?

Here are some ideas of who I want to be:

  • compassionate
  • selfless
  • caring
  • confident
  • open minded
  • loving (of both myself and others)
  • environmentally conscious
  • healthy
  • creative
  • ambitious
  • content

Can I successfully embody all of these ideas? Certainly I don’t think I can be all of these things, all together, all the time. I will never be perfect. But striving to reach these goals helps to put things into perspective. Are the actions I am taking helping me reach these goals? Am I being stagnant or am I growing toward becoming a caring, confident, open minded, etc. person? What changes do I need to make in order to become more content? How do I need to alter my thought process in order to be more ambitious? What research do I need to do in order to be more environmentally conscious.

I hope by creating this type of list I am motivated to continue to grow. This is not the type of list where I will cross things off over time (I am creative check!) but instead a list I will continue to keep in the back of my mind to have something to strive for.

What characteristics do you hope to embody in your life? Do think keeping a mental or physical list of these qualities is helpful? Let me know!

One thought on “Who Do You Want To Be

  1. How funny, I read the title of the post first and I thought for a second: wait, I am at the wrong page. Because I once wrote a post with exactly the right name 😛 But I really love your blog! You think the way I think a lot 🙂 I would love to be confident, passionate, satisfied, powerfull, helpfull and ehm well actually so many things. Every day is a great opportunity to work on yourself 🙂

Talk to Me

