Thanksgiving Traditions

It’s that time of year! Thanksgiving time. I’m gearing up to head back to my parents’ house tomorrow night for 5 days of pure bliss. But in order to get there I need to drive through some of the craziest weather. Yesterday it was 72, tomorrow we could see up to 6 inches of snow! I could go on a rant here about global warming and the environment but I won’t. I’m leaving work at noon, running aka taking the metro back to my house, picking up my cat, and driving to my parents’. What should only take me 2.5 hours will almost certainly take me at least 4. I’m hoping to get home in time to have a belated birthday dinner with my family.

But all of this is really building up to the big day. Turkey day. It’s one of my favorite holidays of the year, second only to Christmas. The funny thing is my family really doesn’t have any set Thanksgiving day traditions. My grandma alternates every spending Thanksgiving on the East Coast with my family or spending it in Chicago with my aunts and uncles. On the years she’s here we might host Thanksgiving at my parents’, other times we head to my aunt and uncles’ house. A few years we went to a family friends place where they hosted a HUGE Thanksgiving dinner of at least 70 people. Another year we went to my best friend’s home. Every year our plans are different.

We jump from people to people, home to home every year. But I don’t feel like I’m missing out on any time honored traditions. It’s fun to do something new every Thanksgiving. We get to see new people, eat different dishes, enjoy other families’ traditions.

I guess the one tradition my family keeps is being surrounded by love. No matter where we enjoy the holiday we are always accompanied by the amazing people in our lives we are lucky enough to call our friends. On Thanksgiving the most important thing is not the food, drinks or football, but the people we spend the day with. The company we keep. The conversations we have. I could not be more thankful for all the special people I have in my life. And I am truly lucky to get to spend a fabulous holiday with even a select few of them.

Talk to Me

