#Serial

Oh. My. God. SERIAL! I am probably the 11th person to talk to you about Serial, but I just can’t keep my mouth shut. It’s amazing!

Serial
source

Just in case I’m actually not the 11th person to talk to you about Serial, Serial is a podcast. It is hosted by Sarah Koenig and it follows, week by week, a murder case that happened back in 1999. Hae Min Lee, a senior in the Baltimore area, was murdered and her ex-boyfriend Adnan Syed was tried and convicted for the crime. He has spent the last 15 years in jail while still insisting on his innocence. Sarah has been researching the case for the past year and presents all of her research every Thursday in the Serial podcast.

The podcast is seriously addicting. I had heard a lot of good things about Serial and decided to download the episodes in preparation for my long drive home the Wednesday before Thanksgiving (traffic is no fun). My trip seemed to fly by thanks to Serial. I was so intrigued by the case and the facts Sarah was reporting. There are a ton of holes in the prosecution’s case against Adnan and Sarah goes through these holes carefully and in detail.

The surreal thing about it all is the story is real. This isn’t a work of fiction. Adnan is real and his request for an appeal was just accepted yesterday. This podcast is not going to come to a clean and neat ending because everything is still playing out. There will never be a real “the end” because it’s not the end. These are people’s lives and stories that are being told every Thursday on Serial. When I think of it that way, I start to get super invested in the facts, clues, evidence, and everything surrounding the case.

I definitely recommend Serial to everyone! New episodes come out on Thursdays (can’t wait to listen to the latest one on my lunch break today!). It’s the perfect thing to listen to during your commute, cleaning, or just taking a walk around the block.

Let me know if you love Serial as much as I do. Also any other podcast recommendations are greatly appreciated!

Talk to Me

