How Do We Fit It All In?

Our lives are busy. Like seriously busy. We have jobs, friends, boyfriends/girlfriends, families, personal projects, hobbies, volunteer obligations, and so much more. We try to find time for all of it. And besides all the happy hours, staff meetings, dates, and fundraising events we need to find time to oh you know, sleep, eat, brush our teeth and just breath.

But how? How is this all possible? I’m at work for 8 hours (sometimes more) a day. My commute is a half hour each way, so there’s another hour. Experts recommend 8 hours of sleep a night so already we’re up to 17 hours of my day accounted for just from sleeping and work. And yes that does leave me with an additional 7 hours, which may seem like a lot, but in reality those hours fly by.

I want to volunteer. I want to prepare my own meals. I want to go to happy hour with my friends. I need to do laundry and go grocery shopping. I want to workout. I want to visit and spend time with my boyfriend. I need to pack for my impending move. I need to pay my bills. I want to meet new people and experiences new things.

How can I possibly do all of that? I can I fit in all the things I want and need to do in just 24 hours? And also not lose my mind in the process. Because there are certainly nights where I just want to chill. Relax. Watch some Netflix. Read a good book. Drink some tea and just chill.

I’m still trying to figure this all out myself. I haven’t found the secret trick that allows me to do all the things I want to do without going crazy. I haven’t discovered that magic potion that gives me more time in a day (or a time turner like Hermione had in her third year).

One of my quotes is “You have as many hours in a day as Beyonce.” Which is true, we all have the same amount of time in a day. But then why does it feel like some people can do it all and fit it all in, but I can’t? How can Beyonce be fabulous, have an amazing body, be a mom and a wife, a business woman and singer, how can she do all those things in just 24 hours?

I just try to take it one day at a time and find some sort of balance. Find my priorities. And that means long term and short term priorities. My friends and family will always be the #1 priority in my life, but they can’t be the #1 priority day in and day out. Maybe I do turn down that invite for a happy hour if I know I’ll see that friend on the weekend. Maybe I miss a weekend home in order to settled into my new apartment and run errands. I’m trying to find the balance.

Life gets crazy. Life is busy. There are only so many hours in a day. And it’s important to recognize that. To know you can’t do it all, all the time, everyday. I’m finding my way through this time management problem, slowly but surely. Along the way I hope I find what is most important to me.

How do you manage it all? How do you fit in what is important to you?

Talk to Me

