San Francisco in 5 Days

Guess what? I am planning my first real vacation! Hallelujah! Seriously though this is the first real vacation I’ve taken in probably close to 3 years. I’ve done a few weekend trips here and there, but nothing involving flights, multiple nights in a hotel, or very extensive packing. That’s why I’m so excited but also a bit anxious about this vacation. It’s the first one I am planning completely on my own (with the help of my boyfriend of course). Greg and I decided we are going to take a trip to San Francisco around the middle to end of April. We are still very much in the planning process (we haven’t booked flights or hotels yet).

Since this is my first time planning my own vacation I want to have as much information as possible. I decided to reach out to a few friends who recently traveled to California and ask them how they planned their trip, how long they stayed and where, and what items must be on our itinerary. I guess this is my organization/perfectionist side coming out but I like to have all my information laid out before I make any big decisions. Everyone has been extremely helpful! I highly recommend asking for help or suggestions from friends and family before traveling to a new place. Below are some of the suggestions made to us by our friends.

1 / 2 / 3

San Francisco in 5 Days (For First Time Travelers):

  • Lombard Street – the famously curvy street in San Fran. In the spring and summertime it is lined with flowers.
  • Golden Gate Bridge – the traditional must see. A few of my friends took a hike nearby to get a wonderful overview of the bridge while another good friend decided to bike across it. Many options to enjoy a San Francisco landmark.
  • Muir Woods – a national park full of huge, old growth redwood trees. We’ve been told by multiple people this is a great place to just take in the awe-inspiring power of nature.
  • Alcatraz – some might say this is a tourist trap, but hey we are going to be tourists! I’ve also heard the self-guided audio tour is really fascinating and full of cool historical facts (something this history major loves!).
  • Cable cars – apparently the lines can be insanely long but there is something fun and whimsical just seeing them pass by throughout the city.
  • Union Street – for some fabulous shopping (even if it is just window shopping).
  • Fisherman’s Wharf – a well-known San Francisco hotspot is home to Pier 39, a slew of restaurants, the wax museum, and Ghirardelli Square.

I am so looking forward to this trip. Although it takes some work (and money) to make this vacation happen, I truly think it is important to get away every now and then for your own mental health. Get out of the office, out of your comfort zone, and explore a brand new place. Take in the sights, people watch, and simply enjoy life as it is right here and now.

Any more suggestions of things to see and places to go would be appreciated! I will also have to do a follow up post once we actually take our trip!

One thought on “San Francisco in 5 Days

  1. So exciting! I am also going on a vacation in a few days… I am the same. I like to have everything planned out with exact details of itinerary! You would not want to miss out 🙂

    By the way, I am giving away $25 gift card to The Mint Julep Boutique! I’d love if you can send your entries!

    Abby
    Life in the Fash Lane

Talk to Me

