Nighttime Routine

I think I have decided I want to try to tackle one big goal each month of this year. Last month it was giving up alcohol. For February it is improving my nighttime routine. I have fallen into this terrible habit of staying on my computer watching Netflix or on Pinterest all night. I lose track of time and next thing I know it’s midnight and I haven’t even brushed my teeth or gotten into my pajamas. Since by that time it’s already so late I quickly change, brush my teeth and maybe rinse my face before popping my head against the pillow. Forget about properly washing my face, making my lunch for the next day, or getting in some reading.

Messy bed
source

But no more.

I am determined to have a better bedtime routine. For starters I want to sleep more soundly. I am one of the worst sleepers. It takes me forever to actually fall asleep and when I do I constantly toss and turn. It’s normal for me to wake up 3 or 4 times in one night. I’ve heard time and again that looking at screens before bed messes up your internal clock and your sleep schedule. For that reason I am vowing to turn my computer and TV off by 9pm every weeknight. I would love to also avoid my phone, but that is a much harder task and something that will have to wait for a later time.

After I turn off my computer and TV it’s time to start winding down. I normally shower at night so I’ll do that. Then brush my teeth (maybe even floss!). I will also wash my face at this time. I wrote about my face cleansing routine here, but since then there have been a few additions. I’ve been using Neutrogena’s night calming makeup removing wipes before washing my face. For Christmas my mom gave me the Clarisonic Mia which I completely LOVE. I use it every other night. On the nights when I don’t use my Mia I’ve been using Burt’s Bees brightening facial cleanser. I’m not sure how I feel about it since it doesn’t get very foamy (and I kinda need that to feel like I’m actually cleaning my face) but it’s good for now.

After cleansing my face I make my lunch for the next day and boil some water for tea. I’ve been enjoying Celestial Seasoning’s chamomile tea since it’s very calming and relaxing. After I finish packing my lunch and brewing my tea and head back to my room to stretch for a bit. I find stretching can really help to relax me and just calm my mind. Plus I want to get back into yoga soon and I need to become more flexible! Once I do a bit of stretching it’s time to hop into bed and read for at least 30 minutes. I just started A Game of Thrones (after watching all of the seasons of the show) and I’m really hooked.

With this routine I’m normally in bed with the lights off by 10:30 or 11pm. I’m hoping as I get used to this routine and I start to fall asleep earlier I can translate that into an earlier wake up time! Ideally I would love to go for a short 20 to 30 minute walk in the morning when the weather starts to warm up.

What does your bedtime routine look like? Would you change anything about it? I would love to hear!

2 thoughts on “Nighttime Routine

  1. I love the idea of tackling one thing a month. I tend to attempt to change everything all at once and that never works, so then I just give up and go back to whatever I was doing before.

    I could do with fixing my night-time routine, or just having one. I am another person who gets sucked in by Netflix or something on the internet and then I am lucky if I get 3/4 hours of broken sleep!

    1. I was totally the same way for awhile. The internet can turn into a blackhole! But I’m determined not to let myself fall in anymore and actually take care of myself before bed. Hopefully I’ll be able to stick with it.

Talk to Me

