The Problem with the #Hustle

I read a lot of blogs. Seriously, like a lot of them. I just love blogs. Which is a big reason I started this blog.

All of the women behind the blogs I read seem so crazy accomplished. They are running their own businesses, raising families, creating products and art. I am in awe of their talents and capabilities. And I know it’s hard. There are nights where they don’t sleep. There are weekends spent in the office or at their desk. There are vacations they don’t get to take and dinners with friends they have to cancel. There are endless emails and projects. But a theme that seems consistent throughout is that the #hustle is worth it.

hustle
source 

That’s right the #hustle.

I’ve seen art prints with hustle on them. I’ve seen shirts and bags. I’ve heard of side hustles (in reference to side businesses). I’ve heard of weekend hustles and vacation hustles and everything in between. These powerful ladies, these entrepreneurs and CEOs, they are all about the hustle.

And I’m just not.

These women talk about the not so glamorous side of running a business or climbing the corporate ladder and it does not seem appealing to me. I think about my dad. My dad owns his own business. It’s a family business that he inherited from his father. Running your own business is tough. But all throughout my childhood my dad was always home by 6:30pm. We had dinner as a family. My dad rarely worked on weekends. He was around for our peewee soccer games and our middle school choral concerts. He was not checking his emails or on his phone. When he was home, he was with his family. And that was that.

That’s how I want my life to be as well. I know I need to work to support myself. Ideally I want to work for a company that holds the same values as me and somewhere my talents can be utilized. But at the end of the day, my job is just that, my job. It’s not my life. When I come home after work I want to be home. I want to pursue my interests outside of work. I want to spend quality time with friends and family. I don’t want to be constantly worried about that work email that popped up on my iPhone. I want to be present. 

In this day and age, we are always connected. Always on call. It is expected of us that we will have our phones strapped to our sides. That we will answer a call or text or email at a moments notice. That we will drop anything and everything to deal with a work issue. That we will stay as late as our boss needs. That we will come in early and spend 12 to 14 hours in the office. That we will dedicate ourselves fully with no reservations to our jobs. And only then will you be acknowledged for your hard work. Only then will you get the promotions you are after or the projects you want.

When did we get like this? When did we put our careers before everything else? When did we start valuing our time at our desk more than our time at the dinner table with our family? I don’t want to be stuck in this wheel constantly running along chasing after that next promotion and forgetting about the things that matter.

I don’t think there is anyone on their deathbed saying they wished they spent more time at work. That they wished they responded to more emails or answered more phone calls. At the end of our lives we are going to wish we spent more time with our family and friends. We are going to wish we pursued more of our interests. We are going to wish we had more real memories.

So no I’m not a fan of the hustle. Because I am not going to wait until the end of my life to have regrets. I’m going to live my life right now, day after day, full of intention and mindfulness of what truly matters.

One thought on “The Problem with the #Hustle

  1. Great article. More should be said about the spiritual trade-off that occurs when we reach for goals that may unbalance us.

Talk to Me

