Hitting Reset

Have you ever felt like you just need a restart? That you’ve been in a funk, just kind of going through the motions? You want to make some changes. You want to get out of your rut. But in order to do so you feel like you need to hit reset? Just a period of time to completely break away from the day to day. A time of change. Of new experiences. Of self reflection. Of love.

These reset periods can be big or small. You could need a reset just for an afternoon. You go to a museum you’ve never been to before and treat yourself to a delicious dinner. You could have a reset weekend. Take a small roadtrip to a town nearby and stay in a B&B. You could need a big reset. Quit your job, pick up your life, and move to a totally different country kind of reset.

I’m in need of a reset. I don’t need an entire life reset, but I need more than just an afternoon. Fortunately for me I leave for Europe tomorrow evening! I’ll be there for 10 days visiting both Paris and Santorini with two of my absolute best friends in the entire world. I think it is exactly the kind of reset I’m looking for.

I’m hoping this trip renews me. I hope it allows me to start fresh on the other side. To help give me a new passion and drive to make some real changes in my life. I moved to DC almost exactly a year ago (I think I moved into my house on July 7th). In this past year so much has changed. My old job and old life in Philly is fading further into the background. I am growing and learning. I am exploring more and more of my new city. I am doing things I am uncomfortable with and getting outside of my safe zone. There have also been challenges. One of the most trying and anxious periods of my life occurred in this past year. I am still trying to make friends and find my group. I am still learning how to take care of myself and treat my body right.

I’m so happy I moved to DC. It’s a wonderful city and I feel like this is where I belong right now. But I also know I still need to make some changes. I need to change my path ever so slightly so it starts aligning more with what I expect of myself and my future. But in order to truly get to that point, I need a reset.

So tomorrow I leave for Europe for 10 days. When I return to the States I also hope to return to this blog more regularly. It will be time to tackle personal and professional goals. It will be time to make some long time coming changes. It will be time to restart and head down the path as I see it.

Until then!

xx

One thought on “Hitting Reset

Talk to Me

